“New Outbid Alert” Should Alert Houses to Value of Photography

outbid

Proxibid’s excellent new outbid alert will help raise bids as much as the technology overhaul last year with new bidder window and other live-auction features. But it also is a lesson to auctioneers to upgrade their photography and lot descriptions.

The new feature is alluring in several respects. If you are notified about several outbid lots, all you have to do with most browsers is input your Proxibid password once rather than multiple times. This allows you to consider each lot carefully without the manual bother. Also, the email depicts lots with descriptions and photos and communicates just what coins the buyer may lose, requiring auctioneers to take greater care in how they describe and title a lot.

Compare the new alert above with an old one below:

outbid1

Gary Ryther Auctioneers upgraded photography just in time for this new feature, and he has reaped the benefits. Several companies, including a few in our top rankings, had better pay attention to the value of sharp and expandable photography–especially photos that can capture luster–or the more up-to-date houses like Ryther’s will take a bigger share of the bidder pie.

Small improvements spell big results in technology. Proxibid is proving the point.


Proxiblog is an independent entity with no connection to the auction portal Proxibid. Our intent is to uphold basic numismatic standards as established by the American Numismatic Association and the National Auctioneer Association and to ensure a pleasurable bidding experience not only on Proxibid but also on similar portals such as iCollector and AuctionZip.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s